Upcoming ICC champions trophy: 2025 onwards

International Cricket Council or ICC is going to organize the Champions trophy once again after the last edition of 2017 which was hosted by England and Wales and won by Pakistan. In this post, I'm going to mention the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy hosting nations and its year. So, before jumping right into it let's first know a little about the ICC and the Champions Trophy.

Upcoming ICC champions trophy: 2025 onwards

ICC(International Cricket Council)

International Cricket Council, formerly known as Imperial Cricket Conference(1909) and International Cricket Council(1965) is the governing body of worldwide Cricket founded by the representatives of Australia, England, and South Africa in the year 1909 having its headquarters in London till 2005 and Dubai after 2005 onwards.

The ICC's responsibilities include organizing and controlling major international tournaments, particularly Cricket World Cup and T20 World Cup. It also includes appointing the umpires who officiate at all Test matches, One Day Internationals, Twenty20 Internationals. ICC sets the code of conduct that is supposed to be followed by all the players and officials and works against corruption and match-fixing through its special unit, the Anti-corruption and Security Unit(ACSU). 

ICC doesn't have control over the making and altering of the laws of the game, all these matters are governed by Marylebone Cricket Club since 1788. Also, the ICC doesn't govern domestic cricket within member countries and neither does it control the bilateral fixtures between the member countries. The current chairman of ICC is Greg Barclay from New Zealand.

ICC Champions Trophy

ICC organizes a One Day International(ODI) cricket tournament known as ICC Champions Trophy. The last edition of the Champions Trophy was organized in 2017, which was later replaced with the WorldTwenty20 championship in 2018.

Starting as ICC Knockout Tournament in 1998 later Champions Trophy, it has been played every two years till 2006. The 2008 tournament was decided to be hosted by Pakistan but was shifted to South Africa in 2009 for some security issues. Since then, it was played every four years. 

Upcoming ICC champions trophy: 2025 onwards

The main idea of organizing the Champions Trophy by the ICC was to generate funds for the non-test playing countries having its first tournament being held in Bangladesh and Kenya that later came out be a massive commercial success and the countries like India and England act as a great revenue generator for the ICC since then.

At first, Champions Trophy was a knockout tournament so that it takes less time as compared to the other tournaments but later from 2002 onwards it had a robin-round tournament followed by a few knockout games lasting about two weeks. Australia and India have won the title twice each whereas New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and Pakistan have won it once each since then. 


As mentioned earlier, the Champions Trophy is held every four years since 2009, like the World Cup. The duration of the matches in the Champions Trophy lasts from two to two and a half weeks, World Cup matches however last for a month and the World Cup has more teams than that of the Champions Trophy(2017 Champions Trophy had 8 teams). To win the tournament, a team was supposed to play only four games that are two in the pool, one in the semi-final, and one in the final. The format of the Knock Out tournaments differed from that of the Champions Trophy. The Champions Trophy had a straight knockout with no pools, which means losing a single game will make the loser get eliminated from the tournament.

The Upcoming ICC Champions Trophy 

The ICC is finally going to organize the Champions Trophy once again from 2025, that is after eight years and the host country for the 2025 tournament is going to be Pakistan. The ICC board also on Tuesday confirmed that India will be hosting the next three events in the cycle, the 2026 Twenty20 World Cup, the 2029 Champions Trophy, and the 2031 World Cup.

Pakistan has not been able to host many international events since the last terrorist attack on the bus of Sri Lankan Players in 2009.

"Two ICC Men's Cricket World Cups, four ICC Men's T20 World Cups, and two ICC Men's Champions Trophy events will be hosted by 11 Full Members and three Associate Members," the governing body said in a statement.

"For the first time, the United States and Namibia will host an ICC World Cup event. While Bangladesh, England, Ireland, India, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Scotland, Sri Lanka, South Africa, the West Indies, and Zimbabwe have previously hosted major events, they will do so again in the coming decade." ICC Chairman Greg Barclay thanked all members who submitted bids and congratulated the winning bidders.

Here is the list of some of the tournament's hosting nations:-

ICC Men's T20 World Cup: 2024

USA and West Indies are the hosting nations of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024. It is really exciting to see the USA staging the World Cup for the very first time.

ICC Champions Trophy: 2025

Pakistan after a long gap of almost 25 years has grabbed the opportunity to host any international event, the ICC Champions Trophy 2025. 

ICC Men's T20 World Cup: 2026

India and Sri Lanka together will host the ICC Men's T20 World Cup in 2026.

50-over World Cup: 2027

South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia are the countries that are going to host the upcoming ODI World Cup of 2026. 

ICC Men's T20 World Cup: 2028

Australia and New Zealand 

ICC Champions Trophy: 2029


ICC Men's T20 World Cup: 2030

England, Ireland, and Scotland

50-over World Cup: 2031

India and Bangladesh 

A similar process will be used to identify the hosts of the ICC Women's and U19s events for the next cycle early next year.


if you have any doubt please let me know!

Post a Comment

if you have any doubt please let me know!

Post a Comment (0)

Previous Post Next Post